Board elections - Victorian Legal Services Board + Commissioner

Board Elections

The Legal Services Board is comprised of a Chairperson, 3 non-lawyer members and 3 lawyer members (1 advocate and 2 non-advocates). The Chairperson and the 3 non-lawyer members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The 3 lawyer members are elected to their positions by members of the legal profession.

The Legal Profession Uniform Law Application Act 2014 requires that the Board hold an election for the 3 lawyer member positions every 4 years. All lawyers who hold a current practising certificate at the relevant time in an election year are eligible to nominate for a position on the Board and to vote in the election.

The Board enters into an arrangement with the Victorian Electoral Commission to conduct the elections.

2014 election results

The most recent election was held in 2014 as a postal vote. The Victorian Electoral Commission published the election results in the Victorian Government Gazette on 15 May 2014.

The successful candidates from that election were:

  • Mr Peter Jopling AM QC (advocate member)
  • Ms Cate Dealehr (non-advocate member)
  • Mr Steven Stevens (non-advocate member).

See also the Board’s media release about the results.

The next election is scheduled to take place in early 2018.


Last modified June 29, 2015.