Legal Services Council appointments - Victorian Legal Services Board + Commissioner

Legal Services Council appointments

November 22, 2017

The Attorneys-General of NSW and Victoria (the Standing Committee) have reappointed the inaugural members of the Legal Services Council, extending the members’ tenures until October 2020.

The members of the Legal Services Council are:

  • The Hon. Michael Black AC QC (Chair)
  • Ms Fiona Bennett
  • Ms Kim Boettcher
  • Mr Steven Stevens
  • Mr Bret Walker SC

The Legal Services Council is responsible for overseeing the operation of the Legal Profession Uniform Law in participating states, presently NSW and Victoria, and for developing the Uniform Rules.

The Legal Services Council is assisted in its work by the Admissions Committee of the Council.  The members of the third Admissions Committee, which was appointed in June 2017 are:

  • The Hon. Acting Justice Arthur Emmett AO QC (Chair)
  • Dr Elizabeth Boros
  • Mr Stuart Clark AM
  • Professor Lesley Hitchens
  • The Hon. Justice Emilios Kyrou
  • Professor Bronwyn Naylor
  • The Hon. Justice Richard White

The recently appointed CEO Legal Services Council and Commissioner for Uniform Legal Services Regulation, Megan Pitt, will be working closely with both the Council and the Admissions Committee.

Further information is available from the Legal Services Council website.